Customer Reviews for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>

Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>

A battery-powered toothbrush with a pulse that penetrates deep between teeth.
Average Customer Rating:
2.318 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
9
2 stars
18
1 star
23
13 out of 27(48%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Review 1 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a good quality 'regular' toothbrush with extra cleaning

Date:November 11, 2014
homebuilding
Age:65 or over
I appreciate this product to the point that I've purchased several.
It takes a cheap alkaline AA battery (you can find them for 25 cents) and the battery life is quite good.
However, when you unscrew the handle, it's difficult to change batteries, given the construction of the contacts. (I got the impression that you're not supposed to be able to change them....)
Nevertheless, you are then stuck with a rather decent toothbrush that no long features the cleaning vibrations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Pulsar tooth brush - Just doesn't last

Date:October 27, 2014
Anonymous
Age:65 or over
I have bought 4 Pulsar toothbrushes over the last year. The bristles stand up well, but unfortunately, the battery has yet to last more than a month. I have tried to change the battery, but each time the metal contact piece must be bent significantly to get the battery out and put a new one in that it no longer makes good, or any contact at all with the battery.
When the battery works this is a great toothbrush, but since it lasts for such a short period, the extra expense is simply not worth it. The manufacturer need to redesign the battery holder to allow it to be easily changed. If they do that, I might try it again. Until they do that, I'm not buying it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Almost dead battery

Date:October 22, 2014
TonyL
Age:65 or over
Bought a replacement for my old one (brush wore out) about 3-4 weeks ago. Yesterday, the buzz was so weak I thought THIS battery was dead too. Initial pulsations were strong and invigorating, today, not much.
Good product, good idea, poor QC
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Another disappointment

Date:October 1, 2014
Beerad
Age:35 to 44
While I found the Pulsar to be a great product, I'm very disappointed at the company's suggestions for longevity. Yes it's a throwaway brush, one doesn't, typically, try to replace the battery but having used four now only one lasted anywhere near the suggested lifetime (it lasted 6 weeks, I believe they suggest up to three months).
Bought a two pack, one was DOA. My current has lasted three weeks and is now almost dead. Oral-B needs to alter its copy on the packaging to reflect reality. And if the lifetime is predicated on brushing for 30 seconds at a time say so but then that would fly against the recommended length of time to brush wouldn't it. Not buying another.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Quality problems, VERY dissapointed

Date:September 26, 2014
ranger801
Age:65 or over
Bought the Oral-B pulsar because of the brand name.
Brush worked well until battery died, this is where quality problem comes in.
Battery is virtually impossible to replace because of holder design. The battery cannot be removed without damaging the clip holding the battery in place.
This has turned me off to Oral-B
Don't buy it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

What's going on!

Date:August 28, 2014
Anonymous
Age:25 to 34
Used oral b pulsar brushes for years, never ever had a problem!
Until recently that is! I purchased one twin pack, one battery was dead, the other lasted two days! I would not dream of returning a tooth brush, so purchased another! Same again! Look at all of these reviews relating to battery issues! You have made changes, and it's now a design fault! Rectify it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

battery was dead when purchased!

Date:August 10, 2014
carolyng
Age:35 to 44
I bought a 2-pack. Waste of money; not one but BOTH batteries were dead. Don't bother.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Works fine longevity rubbish......

Date:August 5, 2014
Vimes
Age:45 to 54
As others have noted...
The toothbrush seems to work fine but then we are encouraged to throw it away all because it has been designed to be disposable. Not only is this costly but it is doing the environment no goods in throwing away a perfectly good product due to them designing it so that the battery cannot be replaced.
This has completely put me off from using this brand again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Brushes great, but battery life is poor

Date:August 1, 2014
JediScott
Age:35 to 44
When this brush is operating at full charge it is great! However like most of the other reviews here, the battery only seems to last 3 weeks. I've been using these brushes for about 3 years at $8 to $9 a pop which made me realize that I can buy a really nice sonic care toothbrush for the money I've spent on pulsar brushes, so that's what I just did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

one month battery stopped

Date:July 23, 2014
sebring
Age:55 to 64
I was a little disappointed, the battery only lasted 3 weeks.On the package it states the battery will hold a charge for 3 months. Paid $8.00.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Battery died

Date:July 20, 2014
DogMommy
Age:35 to 44
Like everyone else I liked this toothbrush a lot until the battery died and I realized I cannot replace it. I will have to try another brand that has a replaceable battery!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Battery Dead in 3 Weeks

Date:July 15, 2014
medmed
Age:45 to 54
This product has a design defect where the battery does not last more then a month. Total waste of money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Battery Life is Terrible

Date:July 13, 2014
Dumbnicknamepolicy
Age:35 to 44
It's not possible to replace the battery with this product. It's not worth the money. I'll definitely never buy another one. Additionally, I'll be reluctant to purchase any other product from this company in the future. Way to alienate your customers :(
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Won't go back to Manual Toothbrush

Date:July 11, 2014
TexGuy
Age:35 to 44
I've been using these toothbrushes for years. I love how clean they get your teeth. Battery life seems to die around the time the bristles start wearing out, so I've never had any issues with the battery life.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Can't Replace Battery!

Date:July 8, 2014
SandRsMom
Age:25 to 34
The battery just ran out in my toothbrush after about a month. I opened it to try to switch it out and, just like others have said, it is impossible to get it out without bending the metal piece! I can't get mine to work now unless I'm pressing on the metal piece. Huge product flaw. Very disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Satisfied

Date:June 30, 2014
KadiMacsMom
Age:35 to 44
The battery died not long after purchase. Then we tried to replace it and where the battery goes fell apart. Very disappointing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Weak Battery

Date:June 14, 2014
Murf
Age:35 to 44
I have had 4 of the oral-B pulsar toothbrushes. The first one worked great, the battery outlasted the 3 month timeframe that I use a toothbrush. However each of the oral-b pulsar brushes that I have had since has not been that good. The battery lasts about a month to a month and a half then dies. Very disappointed!!!! Its a great toothbrush and I hope that oral-b will invest in a better battery that will last for at least 3 months.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Short battery life, battery is difficult to change

Date:June 5, 2014
traaaaamy
Age:25 to 34
In agreement with other reviewers, the battery that came with the toothbrush lasted me about a month.
When I went to change it, I found it impossible to do so. I ended up bending the metal end to get the battery out and the new battery in. Unfortunately, the brush is turned on as soon as I twist the battery compartment closed. The buttons are ineffective. Now, I leave the battery compartment slightly opened when not in use and twist it close to turn it on. THIS IS A MAJOR DESIGN FLAW. If there is a "correct" way to change the battery, Oral-B should definitely provide instructions.
Once this toothbrush is worn, I will definitely not purchase another.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Doesn't use the battery shown on the package!

Date:May 21, 2014
SteveW
Age:55 to 64
The package shows a nice Duracell battery, the kind you can buy anywhere. But the battery in the toothbrush isn't replaceable. Bad for the consumer and bad for the environment.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oral-B<sup>&reg;</sup> Pulsar<sup>&#153;</sup>
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointed

Date:May 18, 2014
Kris102
Age:25 to 34
I have purchased several toothbrushes by Oral B, and when this came out I was happy to try it. For the price, not worth it. When the battery goes dead you cannot change it without breaking the connection to the battery. That is very poor design! I will not buy another one. I will go back to Colgate. I do not understand why you would create a battery operated toothbrush where you cannot change the battery.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>