Customer Reviews for Oral-B ProfessionalCare<sup>&reg;</sup> 8900 DLX OxyJet<sup>&reg;</sup> Center

Oral-B ProfessionalCare<sup>&reg;</sup> 8900 DLX OxyJet<sup>&reg;</sup> Center

An oral irrigator and electric toothbrush in a set.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
2 out of 5(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oral-B ProfessionalCare<sup>&reg;</sup> 8900 DLX OxyJet<sup>&reg;</sup> Center
Review 1 for Oral-B ProfessionalCare<sup>&reg;</sup> 8900 DLX OxyJet<sup>&reg;</sup> Center
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this

Date:November 19, 2014
Swedith
Age:35 to 44
Maybe we've just been lucky but ours has lasted about 6-7 years. The top finally snapped off but it still works perfect. I kind of want it to break so we can justify replacing it. We love it so much!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oral-B ProfessionalCare<sup>&reg;</sup> 8900 DLX OxyJet<sup>&reg;</sup> Center
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Clogs up after a year, and pipe leaks

Date:November 15, 2014
PBDubai
Age:45 to 54
I think this is a great product, but it only lasts about 2 years. I've had at least 5. They need to introduce a cleaning program to flush the system or let you take it apart to clean the jet wash. The pipe also springs little holes eventually which is when I buy a new one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oral-B ProfessionalCare<sup>&reg;</sup> 8900 DLX OxyJet<sup>&reg;</sup> Center
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great even though the hose cracks and I can't even find another to buy

Date:October 14, 2014
Fanatic
Age:55 to 64
This is my second, the first hose cracked in a year or so, the other just a week ago. It seems to depend on how far you have to pull and twist the irrigator unit. The pressure problem is usually the little filter in the stem of the rotator head. You tap it on the counter and pluck the stuff out with a toothbrush bristle. The socket it plugs into also gets grody and needs to be cleaned and flushed occasionally. The whole thing needs to be cleaned every time to keep from becoming disgusting. The reservoir needs to be washed with the dishes to keep it clean and the valve in the bottom functioning. The socket that valve fits into on the unit needs to be cleaned with a q-tip. I also run the water out after each use. Not a good idea to use mouthwash in it unless you make sure you run water through afterward. Yes it's worth all this and more. I'm going to find some sort of hose somewhere, maybe a hobby shop?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oral-B ProfessionalCare<sup>&reg;</sup> 8900 DLX OxyJet<sup>&reg;</sup> Center
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Product

Date:September 9, 2014
Sailbilly
Age:55 to 64
Product is excellent but the hose doesn't last and replacements are nearly impossible to buy.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oral-B ProfessionalCare<sup>&reg;</sup> 8900 DLX OxyJet<sup>&reg;</sup> Center
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best on the market

Date:July 9, 2014
Anonymous
Age:65 or over
I have owned one of these for more years than I can remember. I have used it consistently that whole time. I have looked all along for another one for another room and compared them to what I have. Anything else I could find was bigger and bulkier and was not made to hang on the wall up and out of the way. Ample water capacity without wasting space on your counter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oral-B ProfessionalCare<sup>&reg;</sup> 8900 DLX OxyJet<sup>&reg;</sup> Center
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Oral B Oxyjet - Great product / expensive replacement

Date:June 27, 2014
Brett
Age:35 to 44
We love this product & are a family of Oral B users - brushes, floss, washes etc. We have purchased (3) Oral B Oxyjet's in the last 5 years or so.
Why?
Unfortunately the product fails in the same place each time. The coiled white plastic line into the irrigator is very fragile and even though we take great care not to stretch it, it eventually breaks in exactly the same place. Our longest lasting unit has been this one - 16 months. Oh well might have to go and buy our 4th.........
:-(
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oral-B ProfessionalCare<sup>&reg;</sup> 8900 DLX OxyJet<sup>&reg;</sup> Center
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

very short hose life

Date:December 12, 2013
Harry42
Age:65 or over
I have had the product about 2 years but have not used it much as I needed an extension lead to provided power near the basin. Just started to use it and the coiled hose cracked. This is clearly a design fault and I do not recommend purchase until this fault is acknowledged by the manufacturer and the hose upgraded.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Sigurd
 
Please wait while more information about Sigurd is loaded.
Additional information about Sigurd could not be loaded.
Posted August 29, 2014
I also have the same experience with the hose! :(
+6points
6out of 6found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
peter
 
Please wait while more information about peter is loaded.
Additional information about peter could not be loaded.
Posted August 22, 2014
exactly the same issue too me. the hose is too short and cracked easily.
+6points
6out of 6found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
Botham
 
Please wait while more information about Botham is loaded.
Additional information about Botham could not be loaded.
Posted July 12, 2014
I likewise have owned this product. The hose on my first unit broke, the OC 17 565 X, right where it enters the brush unit. I than purchased a second unit, the 8900DLX, and the hose again broke in the same place. What a bummer to have this happen twice. This is a major flaw with this product. I will not buy a third unit. They are too expensive to have a simple hose problem cause the unit to become useless. We will now try a competitor's product. Finished with Oral-B.
+8points
8out of 8found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
Angelina
 
Please wait while more information about Angelina is loaded.
Additional information about Angelina could not be loaded.
Posted July 7, 2014
I also have the same experience not only once but twice for two years :(.
Since there is no replacement kit like "WaterPik hose repair kit" and since the product is very expensive nevertheless that I like very much this product this time I will buy WaterPik to get value for my money.
+5points
5out of 5found this comment helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 8 for Oral-B ProfessionalCare<sup>&reg;</sup> 8900 DLX OxyJet<sup>&reg;</sup> Center
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Oral-B 7900 DXL Oxy Jet - weak performance

Date:March 31, 2013
wingmate
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We have had our Oral-B 7900 for a couple of years and the force of the water jetted out of the water pick has dropped off to a degree rendering it useless. I have seen no evidence of a leak from the hose - only low pressure. I tried switching heads and adjusting pressure settings to no avail.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Denizko
 
Please wait while more information about Denizko is loaded.
Additional information about Denizko could not be loaded.
Posted September 22, 2014
I have the same product second time. Both had the same problem. After a short break of not using it (1-2 weeks), its performance dropped of significantly that we can not use it any more. First product was with us almost 3 years so we bought another one and after 2 years-one day back from holiday- and same issue, pressure is very low (at 5) that we can not use it anymore. No guidance on troubleshooting and we do not know what to do? Is there any recommendation to increase pressure (cleaning, maintenance etc)? Any help is appreciated...
+1point
1out of 1found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Oral-B ProfessionalCare<sup>&reg;</sup> 8900 DLX OxyJet<sup>&reg;</sup> Center
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

We had the same problem with the Oral B

Date:March 22, 2013
islek
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(as well as the Water Pik products) - the hoses are not made of a good quality that are flexible enough for the oral irrigation part of the product - they develop holes or cracks with use over time so the product only lasted a few years - if the quality of the hose was better, the appliance would have lasted considerably longer - otherwise, we really liked the product -
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
alkalinebill
 
Please wait while more information about alkalinebill is loaded.
Additional information about alkalinebill could not be loaded.
Posted November 17, 2014
I have had a Braun irrigator and toothbrush for years. Like almost 20. It quit on me after about five years and I had the motor replaced at a Braun repair center in Houston. I don't know if Braun repair centers even exist anymore because it is still working. If it starts losing pressure I run a mixture of alcohol and water through the unit until it starts working again. I do this when it starts losing pressure. The only reason I am on here is because it took awhile for water alcohol mix to break up whatever was blocking the water from flowing freely. It started working again last night so no new one. I am also careful not to stretch the hose too far. Downside: the toothbrush quit years ago, but I am trying to replace the battery. Who knows it might still work with a new battery.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Oral-B ProfessionalCare<sup>&reg;</sup> 8900 DLX OxyJet<sup>&reg;</sup> Center
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

gr8 product with flaw

Date:July 27, 2012
gr8pets
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have purchased 3 of these over the last 5-6 years ...We love how the brush cleans & water jets clears food particles. But, all 3 have developed the same failure ... the coiled hose cracks, rendering the water jet useless ... and it is NOT a replaceable part. Nice product idea ... terrible design reliability!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Response from Oral-B:By ShawnnaConsumer Care August 1, 2012
Please give us a call at (800) 566-7252 so we can learn more about what's happening and help you out! We appreciate your loyalty.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BUGGYBOY
 
Please wait while more information about BUGGYBOY is loaded.
Additional information about BUGGYBOY could not be loaded.
Posted January 5, 2014
WE HAVE HAD THE SAME EXPERIENCE with hoses AND NO HELP FROM BRAUN. WE ARE LOOKING FOR AN ALTERNATIVE THOUGH WILL GIVE THE PHONE NUMBER HERE ONE LAST TRY. IF HOSE WERE REPLACEABLE IT WOULD BE A GOOD PRODUCT.
+4points
4out of 4found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Oral-B ProfessionalCare<sup>&reg;</sup> 8900 DLX OxyJet<sup>&reg;</sup> Center
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A+++

Date:February 24, 2011
Steve'O
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always had perfect hard natural teeth but I have crowded front lower teeth.
Always had issues keeping up on build up and gum bleeding all over.
I had gone to my cleaning (3 times a year) and was referred to a periodontist. in Nov 2010. I never went...
I read reviews on all auto tooth brushes and this series if you use the OxyJet exceeded all others. Today I went for my four month cleaning (confident) and saw a noticeable improvement less build up in all areas down to just two places to work on.
I am Very happy with this product and would advise to buy one if you can find one.
Hope they continue to improve with a newer models like this.
Steve-O
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Oral-B ProfessionalCare<sup>&reg;</sup> 8900 DLX OxyJet<sup>&reg;</sup> Center
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1